4 yo diagnosed with ADHD and ODD-help?

Sunshine1966

I am very new to this and am not sure what all the different abbreviations mean. If someone has a chance, maybe they could steer me to the right place to write things out accurately.
Recently my 4 1/2 yo boy was diagnosed with adhd and odd. He was started on Strattera 10 mg for 1 week and then up to 18 mg for about 2 weeks now. At first I thought I saw a little calming but not I'm not so sure. The odd symptoms have been really bad lately. I read something about Parent Management Training for treatment? What is that exactly? I really just need to hook up with some other parents who are going through the same struggles as I am. Each day is a battle right now and I'm fighting depression myself.
To put the icing on the cake, our insurance just sent a letter stating they would not authorize another refill of Strattera until he had tried and failed other medications.
Thanks to anyone who can offer me any suggestions or advice.

totoro

Mom? What's a difficult child?
Hi- I wanted to welcome you to our group!!! You will find that everyone here understands how you are feeling. All of us with young and old have struggled and a lot of us are still struggling!!!
Who diagnosed your son? If you have a family history of other issues he might have more going on???

Our daughter difficult child (Gift from God) the one that brought us here... was diagnosed by a lengthy 10 hour Nuero-psychiatric evaluation, plus a very good Psychiatrist that we had to travel to go see, across country!!!
They both gave us the same diagnosis. Plus it really seems to be accurate...
Under FAQ/Board Help:
Board Abbreviations/Acronyms

Also under here you can find lots of answers. that is under the Main forums. Also under FAQ which is just above to the right there are a lot of questions answered...