A ? about getting approved for a loan, either a bank or non-conventional

BusynMember

I'm not very good at this. Maybe somebody else knows.

Hub and I, as I've said in the past, have to leave our house that we rent in 1 1/2 years and me, being the consummate worrier, am already planning what to do next in advance. We will be losing a lot of money. First of all, Sonic's adoption subsidy stops as he moves out and turns 21. Secondly his $200 social security also goes with him and, once he moves out, all of his SS has to be spent and documented for his use only. While he is at home, it is ok for us to use some of it for utilities etc. because he is contributing to the house (we actually use very little of that).

We don't make much money so we need to downscale to a place where the bills will be much less.

Our situation is that we filed bankruptcy 2 1/2 years ago, but our credit ratings are climbing into the high 600's now. Our landlord, bless him, will be a great reference because we've never missed paying rent once in almost five years here and we're his only tenant who has been that "on it." Also, thankfully hub has been at the same job for ten years and, although he doesn't make a lot of money, he has stability there.

Our choices are an apartment, a mobile home park with a decent newer mobile home, and another rental that is much smaller so that the utility bills go down. We will not give up either of our small dogs, which pretty much rules out an apartment, which didn't appeal to us much anyway since we'd have neighbors on both sides of us and upstairs too (maybe downstairs). I don't think a ny apartments allow two dogs, even tiny ones.