a couple of questions

busybee

Okay, I'm new to all of this since my son has just been recently diagnosed. I just have a few questions.
How many of you have discovered after your children have been diagnosed that you have a problem as well?
How many of you have more than one difficult child?

I ask both of these questions for a reason. I have started doing some research about myself and believe I may have ADD/ADHD. I have struggled with my own issues for years, but never really thought to go seek professional help. It is very frustrating to me because I look back on my teenage years and wish I could have gotten help then. It would have made my life much easier.
Also, I have noticed my youngest easy child exhibiting behaviors very similar to my difficult child's behaviors at his age, although not quite as severe. I'm hoping that we don't have the same issues with her. My son has a different bio father, so I think some of his issues come from there, but as I said previously, I think I may have some as well.

nvts

Great questions! I don't have any problems (hahaha!!!), but I've got an attitude a mile wide. Honestly, I think that there's a pretty strong tendency with many of my sibs that Aspergers was there. I'd probably have been defined in this day and age as ODD, because I was "The Enforcer" in our house (6 kids!). If someone hit one of my sisters, I was the one who made them "suffer the consequenses". I was also quite the negotiator!

My two boys are aspies, and my daughter has anxiety issues directly related to difficult child 1's meltdowns.

Most of our generation were non-diagnosed because so little was known about all of the issues. And I hate to break it to you, but I don't even think we've scratched the surface yet!

Watch your daughter carefully and have her tested as she gets older. The sooner any diagnosis and intervention takes place, the less trouble she'll have.

Beth

Stella Johnson