a small vent

GinAndTonic

This is really minor, but I have to get it off my chest or else it'll just grow and grow. Anyway... I have a friend who has a child the same age as my difficult child. My friend is pretty self-righteous -- very into her particular form of child-rearing, diet, politics, childhood education, etc. I like her anyway, and she knows she's a bit much sometimes.

She does _not_ approve of my decision to try medication for my difficult child. She asks questions about it all the time. A few days ago she asked if there were other "medicated kids" in his class.

"Medicated kids." Because that's his defining characteristic, right?

Oh, I can't explain it, but it just makes me mad.

looking4hope

Yes, there are those parents out there. As a teacher, I see kids who desperately need medication and therapy, and their parents refuse to provide it because they are in denial. They will even tell you that there is a history of mental & behavioral problems in their families, but their child "doesn't have a problem". It's always the school, other kids, teachers, etc.

Anyway, I would avoid this woman as much as possible. How you decide to raise your child is YOUR BUSINESS, not hers. And if she tries to tell you that you should try this or that, ask her point blank if she uses that behavioral/ discipline strategy. Chances are, she doesn't.

Let me give you a personal side to this. My sister believes that my son's problems are because of my bad parenting skills. According to her, my difficult child wouldn't need to be hospitalized or on medications if I were a better parent. She cited the fact that I haven't taken any parenting classes (and family therapy for the last 3+ years counts for nothing in her opinion) and that I don't set limits with my son.