Adult Outcomes Survey: Thank You & Please HELP!

Mary

Hello all,

My name is Mary & I am a graduate student on Martie's research team. Martie and I and a few of my fellow students worked for several months working on the concepts and writing questions for the Adult Outcomes Survey. I want to thank those of you who have already taken the time to reflect and complete the survey. Your time, and thoughtful help is greatly appreciated!

Working with Martie for the last year I have heard much about this site and have read for myself the numerous difficult questions and concerns parents raise each day as well as the outpouring of support and advice from fellow parents. You likely post replies to each other because you know that each of your experiences may help other parents going through similar situations with their children.

It is this knowledge that led us to wonder what factors tend to lead to positive adulthood experiences for children with troubling emotional and behavioral problems throughout their youth. What activities, services, programs, therapies, interventions, or parenting strategies can parents use to effect good outcomes for their children? Our hope with the Adult Outcomes Survey is to extend the reach of this goal and collect a large amount of information to inform an even greater number of parents, teachers, psychologists, and advocates on how best to help our children.

Though I am young and it is early in my career working with children with emotional and behavioral problems, I have seen how frustrating, exhausting, lonely and (sometimes) rewarding parenting a difficult child can be. I sincerely hope that all of you with children who are old enough (17 or older) will take the time to participate in our survey and help us continue to gather and build a body of research to help benefit younger children with emotional and behavioral problems.