Advice on taking medications?

5Angels

My 11 yo daughter is bipolar and takes Lamotrigine. She always takes her medications with breakfast and never has an issue with it. In fact, if I forget to hand them to her, she always reminds me. It's the ONE issue we never seem to have to battle over. Well, that changed today. She spent the night with a friend last night and didn't get home until the afternoon. When I reminded her that she needed to take her medications, she just started screaming at me with the usual, "I hate you, you're the worst mother in the world, etc." I've been down this road a million times and don't take it to heart anymore (much). Just curious if anyone else has had the issue just come up out of the blue. I would appreciate your thoughts. When I questioned her as to why she didn't want to take them, I received that profound response of "Because".
Any thoughts?
by the way, she DID take them as she left the room.

horserider

Hello 5angles,
I'm a newbie also. I have a nearly 17 yr old that is currently non-medication compliant. I read your signature, your difficult child is 11? I am no expert but my worry button always gets pushed when I here this. Does her friend know she takes medication that she spent the night with? We found the stigma of talking medications to be a factor with- our difficult child, along with- influence from other children in Residential Treatment Center (RTC)'s that they are bad for you. Has she been on Lamotrigine for awhile? Are any side effects bothering her?

We feel our difficult child's pain when they just want to be like other kids. Possibly she felt this if/when her friend did not have to take medication in the morning. It may be a one time thing for now, but if it happens again I would talk to her proactively about how her medications help her.

Have a nice Sunday

smallworld

There are a lot of reasons it could have happened.

She could have been overtired from the sleepover.