and then......

EStephens

Karma has come around!!! I have been so mad at my friends for abandoning me because my difficult child wasn't like theirs. Fast forward to this week....I am keeping two of my nephews. One is shy, the other has "sensory issues" as his mom says. I am not a doctor, but I would bet 7 milkshakes that kid has Asperger's. I love him and we have had a blast, but by golly he has been difficult!! He wants to argue about EVERYTHING! He has no filter and can not handle temperature changes without a melt down.
In using techniques we use with our big kid, the aspie we are making it!! I can see a little better the fact that other people are intimidated by my difficult child. I have been so mad at these people for being closed minded and I learn that I am not too far behind them.
Oh how I hate eating crow.

T

TeDo

Yup, those are the hardest things to swallow!! At least you know what you're dealing with and doing. Your intolerance of your nephew might be partly because you deal with it every day and then doing double duty with one that shows different symptoms than you are used to (some being worse). I give you credit for seeing it and methods we use for kids on the spectrum work with neurotypical kids too. Glad you have some skills to deal with him appropriately. Is your sister open to you voicing your suspicions? You might be the one that can help her get some help with him. You could commiserate with each other and support each other????

EStephens