Another Newbie Here and question at the bottom of the LONG post

wintak

Hi all

I've read some of your posts and many of you are describing my difficult child. Holy cow. It's nice to know I'm not alone out here, but also depressing as it doesn't seem there are any "cures".

My SO travels up to 30 days at a time, home no more than 7 days at a time so I'm essentially a single parent most of the time. difficult child is unbelievable. At 3 he told me he wished I was dead, at 5 he threatened to kill me with a knife and at 7 he attempted a choke hold on me. We've been in therapy off and on since he was 4.

difficult child used to rage. At times I'd sit in daughters room, back to her door holding her and the baby as difficult child screamed with uncontrollable rage, banging and kicking on the door to the point it would physically move me. That passed before we got him on medications, thank goodness, but that was a good couple years of that.

1st therapist simply didn't believe "such a sweet angelic child" could do that. 2nd therapist got to see a video of him in a complete rage.

Had him in a montessori school where it was a mutual understanding that he wasn't a Montessori kid. I put him there because he HATES taking orders from adults (even at 4) so I figured he could lead himself to things that interest him. He ended up cutting a teachers shirt with scissors, holding a knife to another teacher (granted a butter knife but a knife is a knife at 4) and killing the catepillars waiting to be butterflies because he shook the cage.

An evaluation by ChildFind at 4 1/2 said he was learning despite himself (his words) and no ADD/HD.