Any experience? Any helpful advice?

T

TeDo

I am at a loss and would like to hear from those that have been there done that and/or have ideas. My kids are of the frame of mind that doing something "back" to a person (that you didn't like) will make that person stop doing it. The only problem is that it is totally lost when they do this to each other. Neither of mine can take the other person's point of view so "paybacks" don't work, they just make things worse. I've been telling them and trying to teach alternatives for a few years now. NOTHING is working. I've even tried to explain that if you want someone to stop doing something, the LAST thing they should do is do the same thing back. Why should they stop when you're doing it too. Know what I mean?? I just don't know what else to do/try/teach???? Any ideas?

susiestar

Roll With It
I wish I could help you with this. I don't know what ever got through Wiz' head on this subject, but somehow he stopped. I think maybe he just grew up or else he got sick of my dad going on and on each time he was boneheaded about this kind of thing.

I just always tried to deal with whatever it was, and if paybacks were involved they had to deal with MY payback which generally involved a long, booooooring lecture (specifically designed to be boring in the extreme) and a couple of hours of hard labor, usually out in the OK heat. For the younger two it took 1-2 times and they didn't go there anymore that I found out.

Steely

I am with Suz. I think it just takes time. The frontal lobe is not connected all the way for yet anothe decade for your kids. All you can do is show, role model, and issue consequences - but the majority of it falls on maturity. Sorry :(

DammitJanet

I think it really depends on what you are talking about. Are you talking about physical stuff like one tripping the other just to get a reaction out of the other?