Any Other difficult children Ever Say This?

B

Bunny

So, last night difficult child was sitting on his bed. He had no priviledges after his behavior on Tuesday afternoon/night and he had not earned anything back yet. He said that he wanted to talk to me about what happened and he said that he was really sorry for the things that he said to me and he thanked me for trying to calm him down towards the end of the tantrum, even though he "had been really mean" to me.

I asked him about the tantrum itself and he said to me that while he was in the middle of the tantrum he "did not feel like himself." He said that he felt good in the morning, while he was in school, and even when he first came home from school. He just felt that way while he was raging. Is this from the medication? He's never said this to me before and because of that he seems to think that's the cause. I told him that I really did not know as I am not an expert on medications. I cook and cross stitch, I'm not a doctor. When I call the psychiatrist on Monday I will tell him what he said and ask him about it, but I was wondering if anyone here ever had their difficult children say this.

Thanks for your help.

Pam

hexemaus2

Old hand
While I'm the farthest thing from an expert on medications, I can tell you about us and our family.

With difficult child 1, I seldom listened to what she had to say about her medications, short of obvious physical symptoms or changes in her behavior that I NOTICED. I did in the beginning, until I realized she was being manipulative to find a reason, ANY reason, not to take medications. It made it hard, not knowing if she was saying something because it was the truth, or because she just wanted to stop taking medications all together.