Any schizophrenic difficult children out there?

gcvmom

Here we go again!
And if yours IS, did you ever have a brain MRI?

I know I'm reaching here, but... we got the results from difficult child 2's MRI today. They said everything was normal EXCEPT his 4th ventricle is somewhat enlarged... and since that is unrelated to the problem he IS having, the neuro side-stepped that and went on to discuss the problem at hand.

So now I'm home and googling stuff on the 4th ventricle, and the one thing that pops up and concerns me is that enlargement in the ventricles is almost always a given in schizophrenia.

And with difficult child 2's myriad behavior and mood issues, I worry...

So please share your experience with schizophrenia and tell me not to worry! :D

crazymama30

I have no experience with schizophrenia, I believe it is rather rare in children. Maybe talk to psychiatrist? I am sure he/she would want to know about it .

klmno

I can't answer your question, but did want to send support.

If it were me, I think I would talk to at least one psychiatrist and pediatrician and possibly neurologist on this, too, before accepting a diagnosis that rare for a child this age. I've questioned whether or not my difficult child hallucinates, but it seems therre are so many things that can cause different symptons, etc., I am trying really hard not to cast anything in stone.

katya02

Solace
Hi, I'm new (used to come here but was away so long I forgot my old user name etc. - I'm lucky I still remember my own name, these days!), and my oldest ds was diagnosed with schizophrenia at the age of 12. It seemed early but his symptoms were absolutely classic and there didn't seem much else it could be. He hasn't had any MRIs of the brain so I don't know the state of his ventricles.