anybody good with crock pot cooking??

saving grace

I am not a cook, I dont like to cook and I when I do I am not good at it. I bought a crock pot a bit ago and I have been trying out some "easy" dinners. Well last weekend I followed a recipe for potroast with potatoes and carrots, it cooked all day the meat cooked but the carrots and potatoes were hard. I chalked it up to inexperience and tried again. Today I made beef stew, carrots have been in since 3:30 potatoes since 4:30ish it is now 10pm and my vegtables are still hard!!
What am I doing wrong. Everyone tells me that the meal cooks itself, well the meat is cooking just fine but the veggies are determined to not cook.

Does anyone know what's going on? shouldnt they be super soft practially mushy by now?

Grace

Hound dog

Nana's are Beautiful
Grace

Crock pot cooking is an all day affair. Your cooking times are too short, or else you have the temp set too low. I cook for at least 6 hrs in a crock pot on the highest setting. (although tend to go up to 8 hrs) I only use low for keeping it warm. I've never had any success with low. easy child will use low if she is tossing in say a whole chicken in the early morning and it's gonna cook for 12 hrs.

For pot roast veggies I use baby carrots and cut my potatoes into 4ths, 8ths if they're really big potatoes. And make sure veggies are in the water.

Also when I crock pot, everything goes in at the same time unless there are noodles or rice involved. by the way I hate to cook noodles or rice in a crock pot so I'll do those on the stove last minute. lol

Want an easy crock pot recipe??

Hugs

saving grace

Jam, thanks for the link..
Daisy, I had it on high all day until about an hour ago when I thougt I was going to bed and I wanted to bring the temp down.

The pieces are small, I made sure because I thought that was my problem with the pot roast last week, the pieces were too big.

If I leave them in there and keep it on will the stew over cook?