Anybody know how to cook London Broil?

Californiablonde

Without using the barbeque. I don't trust my barbequing skills as I've never done it before, so I want to use the oven or the broiler. Which is best? And for how long should I cook it? I want to make sure it doesn't come out too tough but I don't want it bloody either. I will be making it for my boyfriend tomorrow night.

Last edited:

buddy

Hey, you might want to search this on this site....I actually think someone discussed this...maybe around the holidays??? I can't remember but I have only been here since last summer/fall and so it is within this year, I really think it was here...if you can't find it and I am right, I bet those people are still here. (why do I remember??? because I am a lousy cook and I actually wondered what it even was!)

AnnieO

Shooting from the Hip
Due to how it is cut, it's really tough to cook it and NOT have it tough. Hmm. Let me dig in my recipes and get back to you...

DDD

You need to put it in marinade..room temperature meat in strong sealing plastic bag and marinade of your choice. The bag should be flipped over so each side has been exposed to marinade for about the same number of hours. If you're not able to grill then the only other method I've used is a broiler pan in the oven. It's a little tricky to make sure it is cooked enough but doesn't burn. London broil is not cooked well done. Usually it is medication rare.

When it comes out of the oven put on a solid surface and "let it rest". It's necessary with this cut of meat because it is not naturally juicy or tender. When preparing to serve it make sure you cut it cross grain (on the diagonal) in very very thin slices. Yummmmmm! Good luck. DDD

keista