Applying for SSI - for myself. Help!

Hi All,

I am wondering if anyone out there has filed for SSDI and SSI - for themselves? I have been putting it off for 6 months now - but I am slowly coming to the realization that I just can't work anymore. I am finding it soooo hard to accept it. I have always worked and have always been able to provide for my family - although we have always been closer to being poor than being rich. (We were rich in other ways!) I already have a lawyers group that wants to represent me, and have had all the claim forms since January. I guess I have been in denial.

My biggest problem with all of this - I have heard that it can take up to a year (or even more!) to be approved for Soc Sec. How do people survive until it kicks in? I can't go to my family - they have no idea what it is like to live paycheck to paycheck and seem to think that helping me means that they can control me. (I mentioned the possibility of going on social security - my sister called me a f*&^ing freeloader!)(My father would have helped me - but he has Alzheimers and doesn't know who I am anymore. My mother controls his money now.)
I called Human Services and I can get Food Stamps - but their Family Intervention Plan would require me to turn over the $475 child support that I get now - to them, and then I would get $429 from them. Some plan, huh?? My rent alone is $1,275 a month!

Anyone have any ideas?

I'm Hangin' on by a Thread aka Amy

O

OTE