Border Terriers

Malika

I have decided to take the plunge and get a dog for my son (and me, obviously). Someone wants to find a new home for a pure-breed border terrier (sickness in family, complicated story) and it seems they are very good with children and this one has had a lot of experience with children. Just wondering if anyone has had any experience of this breed. My son is very excited... I told her it was a girl and he said that was impossible as it does not have long hair (all the girls in his school have long hair)...

hearts and roses

Mind Reader
Not specifically BORDER terriers, but I have lots of experience with terriers in general. They are high energy (need walks and daily playtimes!), lots of fun to play with, extremely good watch dogs and loyal, usually very good with children.

That said, they can be arrogant and stubborn at times. I have three: two cairn terriers and one yorkie.

InsaneCdn

As always... more details please.
How old?
Any formal training? (obedience, etc.)
Intact or neutered/spayed?

Is the type of home the dog has been in and the lifestyle she is used to, compatible with yours?
For example - she may be allowed on the beds in the current house... do you want that?

This is like any other adoption.
Its not about "a dog".
You have to find the RIGHT dog.
And its not just about right breed... there is a wide range within a single breed.

Personally... I'm not a terrier fan. Too independent, arrogant, and hard to train.
(for the record... instead, I like Canadian working dogs who are pack-dependent, intellegent... and hard to train)

Malika

Ah, well, some things in life are a leap of faith, Insane. Like my adopting J, on the basis of no knowledge whatsoever...