Can't qualify for Medicaid, not enough $ for therapy..

aeditha17

I know, I am back with a vengence!!

We have this horrible high-deductible medical insurance so unless someome is dying - the doctor is out. We barely make it on my income, but don't qualify for any public assistance. Funny thing is I work in the medical field as a healthcare administrator adn I can't get the care my own kids need - ARGH!!!

Any suggestions?
B

Wiped Out

Staff member
I'm sorry, this must be so frustrating. Have you checked into the Katie Beckett program? Even though we don't qualify for medicaid our son does due to his special needs.

Jena

Hi,

So, ridiculous, right?? ugh!

How about a county run facility?? I know here they have something the county runs and they offer services doesn't matter your income. Could you do a search on internet for that??

i'm sorry it's always such a struggle at times

Nancy423

do I have to be the mom?
I have the same situation...........I looked into katie beckett and Illinois does not participate. we have some savings and are now forced to use it. Hope you find a solution!

goldenguru

Do you belong to a church? Sometimes larger churches have clinical therapists who work on the side as a ministry. I know our church does.

Also, check some of the private agencies in your area. Many work on a sliding scale that reduces fees.

Mental illness is so under treated - thanks in great part to insurance companies. I'm so sorry.

nvts

Hi! Here's something to look into: many states are now running different programs. Medicaid is for people who really have extremely low OR no income whatsoever. NYState and many others now have "family plans" which are aimed at middle class families who have an income but their budgets are stretched to their (or even beyond) limits.

Aeditha: Specifically for you in Texas, I ran a search and came up with the following link:

http://www.texaschildrenshealthplan.org/events/community_outreach/