Checking in

Esri

My daughter and I are still not talking.

I waited a few weeks and then sent her a message. 'I hope you're doing well. No matter what, I love you' no response.

I sent another one yesterday 'can we talk today? Lunch?' Again no response.

I know I need to stop trying because I only hurt myself more.

My dad said to stop giving her the control. I find this interesting. This whole thing is like a bad game. I am still learning how to play.

I know I only have control over me and my emotions and I am trying. I'm tired of being sad and constantly have her on my mind.

I say I'm going to move on and focus on my life, but dang it, it's not that easy.

Who is this girl that I used to be so close to? How can family mean nothing to her?

I know about being codependent. I have talked about this with my therapist. I am reading the book too.

I get some of it. I know I am putting way to much of my life into wanting her to be a part of it. But she IS my daughter, not just another person. I know I can't make her do anything and I don't want that. I want her to want a relationship.

I know what to need to do. But my heart does not want to follow my head.

Carri

My son doesn't respond to my text messages lately either and I feel exactly like you do. I know I should just back off and wait for him to send me a message. I don't want to smother him, I just want to stay in touch, know if he's ok. The reality it, when I don't hear from him, he's not ok, by my standards. He's using. I'll hear from him when he needs something or he's in jail again. Let's just hang in there, huh?

Scent of Cedar *