Status
Not open for further replies.

Paige Fisher

Hello,

I just joined the group. I have a 13 year old who is in a residential care facility for severe depression and suicidal ideation. While there he has been diagnosed with elements of conduct disorder. When I read the literature it's sounds like he has many elements of conduct disorder.

It's very hard to realize that there is something wrong with your child that you can't necessarily help. He is on several medications and is doing better with the suicidal and depressive thoughts. But it's a little hard to take as a parent to find out your child has conduct disorder. I am a nurse. I remember in nursing class watching a movie with a child with conduct disorder - I remember thinking I would never want to have a child with this disorder. Low and behold I now have a child that has this disorder. We have a pretty normal family - the only thing that fits is that we have had marital discord which we are working on making better for our family (as far as contributing factors). I am not sure if my child has been sexually abused - possible when he was 4 or 5 - but he doesn't remember.

I am looking for support from this community in how to best help my son. We will continue with a child psychiatrist when he gets out of the residential care facility this month. We have done therapy for several months - to no avail. The residential facility has helped him quite a bit - I am thankful for what they have been able to accomplish with him.

Thank you for any direction you can give.

Paige

Fran

Former desparate mom
Hello Paige and welcome. You may want to take your last name off for your privacy.