contemplating

mrscatinthehat

Seussical
I rarely get the newspaper. I did a while back for an article in it. I was going through a lot of old papers like that the other day cutting out the part I want and discarding the rest.

I found a little article in the latest one about an opportunity. The are asking for people to volunteer for two different programs. One is to be a CASA (court appointed special advocate). The other is to sit on the Citizen Foster Care Review Board.

I don't even know if they would except me. But both are to help out with families and kids going through stuff like we did and worse. I think I would bring a very different perspective to things. I know I could do it as it doesn't take a lot of time and I have plenty of knowledge to do this.

What do you all think?

beth

Am I a glutton for this stuff or do I just need some sort of chaos in my life?

klmno

Odd you should mention that. They use CASA's here and I was reading about it earlier in the week. At least here, it sounded like they were desparate for them. But, it's a volunteer job. They have to go through some minimal training and they meet all the legal people. I kind of wondered if there is pressure to just go to court and say what all those legal people want and expect- kind of like the benefit is supposed to be getting to be in the legal circle. I don't know- I can't do it because I don't have time for another job- especially one that doesn't pay.

This might be completely different where you are located. You could always check into it and find out how it works there.

mrscatinthehat

Seussical
It is a volunteer thing here too. But the thing is with all we have been through I would not be so easily persuaded to fall into the just get it through trap. But that might be why they wouldn't except me.

beth

klmno