Dare I post....?

BusynMember

I don't like when doctors see real medical symptoms and send a kid to a psychiatrist with a serious diagnosis. Call me skeptical, but if he were my kid, I'd keep looking for a medical cause. Has he seen more than one doctor? Has he had a CAT scan to make sure nothing is there that shouldn't be? Has he been tested for epilepsy? Allergies? Low blood sugar? What sort of medical doctors has he seen?

I personally wouldn't do the psychiatrist yet. Actually, unless your son was repetitively abused as as child, I would probably blow off the dissociative identity disorder diagnosis and find a new set of medical doctors. I know a psychiatrist has an MD, but he is looking for mental health issues and mental health is not yet an exact science anyway. I'm not an expert by any means, but the little I know of DID does not include falling asleep, numbness, etc.

Have you ever heard of narcolepsy? Look it up. Has he seen a cardiologist to check his heart more than just listening through a stethoscope? There are so many things it can be. Sadly doctors often say "it's all in his/her/your head" when they don't know what is wrong or they can't find anything rather than, "I don't know. I will refer you to somebody else."

I'm sorry Partner is not feeling well, and I hope you get more solid answers very, very soon.

Malika

While I know absolutely nothing about the subject, MWM seems to be talking sense. How can all these physical symptoms translate into multiple personality disorder, with a child??? Makes no sense at all to me.
So sorry you are facing this extra challenge. My thoughts are with you. Please keep us posted.

Last edited:

Josie