Did any of your difficult children benefit from IOP Rehab, as opposed to Residential?

stalln4x

Title says it all. Wondering about IOP vs residential. I don't see the benefit of IOP over AA and already having a therapist.

InsaneCdn

The key to IOP is that it is "intensive"... not just "outpatient". You probably couldn't hold down classes and do a part time job, AND be in IOP. It's definitely more than "AA plus a therapist".

But... from what I've seen, IOP works better as a follow-up to, rather than instead of, residential treatment.

stalln4x

American Girl, is that to say that IOP in conjunction with something else was able to help? I see from your signature that he completed 14 weeks of treatment... was that residential/did that help do the trick? That seems awfully long for IOP but I'm new to all this.

InsaneCdn, have you seen it just plain "work" period? My reservation is I feel that it would feel like a project/something I'm doing rather than "Ok, I'm really doing this and throwing my whole life into the idea of 'never again'," if you know what I mean. I know from the shameful number of times I've fully dedicated myself through AA and failed that I can't just switch the addict in me to "off".

InsaneCdn

Clarification... I've seen IOP work as Phase One, but not for SA issues. (MH issues are not the same problem, but can require intensive treatment)

Nancy

in my humble opinion most addicts would benefit more from a residential treatment program followed by an IOP/After Care program. AA almost always is part of both of those programs so it is not an either/or situation. Frommy experience it is difficult for an addict, especially a young addict, to have a lot of success with some type of treatment that takes them out of their environment and allows them to put their entire focus on recovery.