difficult child 17. How will he handle adulthood?

Purple Cow

I'm a newbie. My difficult child was just diagnosed with ODD. We had an extremely hard time getting him to go in for a 1st consultation with P. I know we will not be able to get him back for therapy. He has no insight into his ODD. Last yr was a disaster at school. Absolutely no respect for his principal. Almost always refuses to accept responsiblity for his bad behavior. Called the princ. extremely inappropriate names. He never studies, nor has he ever but continually gets very good grades. This yr he is post-secendary student at a local college with only one class at the high school (much to the relief of his principal)but he continually misses classes because he over-sleeps. He has a wide circle of friends that he gets along with very well. He needs to be around them constantly. He has been active since he was 6 mo. old and even was disobiediant in pre-school. He can not slow down! He will not get a part-time job like his friends. Actually, I think he may have anxiety about it but will not admit it.

My main concern is how will he act when he gets to college. How can we help him? We have so little time left with him and have not had much success with anything we have tried so far.

Sorry that this is so long.

Fran

Former desparate mom
Hi Purple Cow and welcome.
It's a good thing that he has good grades.
Once he is out of high school, no one will treat him like a kid. You will have little authority over him except by what you allow or not allow.

Does he have consequences when he doesn't do what he is supposed to do?

If he plans to go to college and you are paying, then what will you do if he fails? or gets kicked out? Are you going to be clear to him that if that happens he can't come home.
If he won't work, then don't give him more money.

Our kids push us and push us and we have to keep those boundaries clear of what is expected and what won't be tolerated in your home.