During this season do you have a fav way to give to others or a charity

BusynMember

It is that season again. Do you give your time or toys or dollars to others?

Since we will be doing Christmas the weekend before Christmas in Chicago and on only Christmas Eve when back home, I would love to volunteer in a church that cooks a free community meal on Christmas Day. I've never done that before. Id like to and will try to nudge husband to join me! He can be lazy.....

I do give money when I see a bell ringer and usually donate to the humane society and Coats for Kids. I also think a lot about this site and buy food (usually a big jar of peanut butter and bread) whenever I see a homeless person with a sign. It breaks my heart to see that.

Anyone else?

Tanya M

Living with an attitude of gratitude
Staff member
Over the years our church has had various programs. I have participated in Angel Tree where you take a an angel off the tree that has the name of a child who's parent is in jail. You buy the gift for the child in the name of their jailed parent.
This year we are doing blankets of hope. We purchase material to make a no sew blanket. Microfiber, two pieces, cut the edges and tie together. Very easy. We will be taking these to a local nursing home for residents that do not have family.
We also support a local pregnancy center. We fill bags with things a new mom will need.
We also do other service work through the year which I love.
No matter how bad things can get there is always someone that needs help.
This year I sent my son some money for Christmas. I have not done that in a several years. It felt good to do that but I also know that I have opened a door where he may think he can start asking for money again. I'm firm in that I will give to him for Christmas and birthday but that's it.