Finally hit the end of my rope

Natsom

Hello all,

Another newbie here at the end of her rope.

For many years I have been trying every possible way to motivate my 20 year old son to take responsibility for his life. He has mental health issues, and I'm sure a mixed bag of other things. He has made some very unwise decisions as an adult, and is now a meth addict and has a warrant out for his arrest since he didn't show up to court this morning.

His Father and I were giving him money for a hotel room since he has been kicked out of both of our houses. (So tired of dealing with the authorities!) I can see now, that even though it seemed like he was trying to get his life together in the beginning, it was just a scam to keep up his drugged life style.

Now I can see very clearly that I have to cut him off financially. I'm so dreading dealing with his anger once he realizes that the gravy train is over. I'm hopeful that I will be able to maintain my composure.

I know I need help. I live in a small mountain community, not much here. I actually moved out of Los Angeles partially to get away from him. He has no empathy and tears me apart. It's so good to have a place like this where I can see from other posts that this is a common theme. He definitely knows how to push my buttons. Got some good training from my ex.

It's so hard when I remember that sweet little boy I once had. I'm still hopeful that one day, after he hits rock bottom, he'll be back. But I don't know. This is almost worse than if he had died.

Thank you for listening. I know you all understand. It helps.

Jabberwockey

It's so hard when I remember that sweet little boy I once had. I'm still hopeful that one day, after he hits rock bottom, he'll be back.

He will never be back. Not trying to be harsh, but nobody can ever go back to being the sweet and innocent child they were. Hope that he grows up and becomes a responsible man instead.