Finding a chiropractor

F

flutterbee

I talked to my GP about seeing a chiropractor if my MRI didn't show anything (we're both still shocked over that) and she was hesitant. It really surprised me because she's a DO and usually they're more open-minded about those things.

She did mention one chiropractor that she liked, but of course he doesn't take my insurance.

With all of the stuff going on with my back, I'm hesitant, but am desperate for some relief. I'm just afraid of making it worse since I feel like we don't have a handle on the problem.

So what do I look for and what do I watch out for? Also, I got my lumbar spine MRI on disk. Should I take it with me to have the chiropractor look at? (The radiologist read my brain MRI as normal, but the neuro found midline cerebellar atrophy so I'm really interested in having a second pair of eyes look at it - I'll also have the new neuro look at it.)

TIA.

Last edited by a moderator:

JJJ

Hi Heather,

I would take the MRI and any recent x-rays that you have. The chiro may want to take additional xrays as some conditions contrindicate having adjustments.

Your insurance company probably has a list of chiros that accept your insurance.

I would look for a grad of one of the Big Three chiro colleges: National in Lombard, IL; National in Toronto and Palmer.

Most chiro will do a free consult where you can get an idea of how they would treat you and decide if it sounds like what you are looking for.

They can help a lot with certain maladies.

Ropefree

Banned