first timer

mamadawn

This is my first time here. It makes me sad to be entering one of these sites, but I dont know what else to do. My DS is going to be 15 fri. He has been my life since I was 19. I didnt always do a great job, I struggled with my own substances and mental conditions. I made bad choices. I was ALWAYS a mom first tho. He is now, smoking weed, at the least, stealing from cars, and goin on probation for it. He has manipulated me since toddlerhood with his temper and if he didnt get his way there would be hell to pay. Tonight he wanted money and a ride, I wanted to finish my dinner first, he came home looking high and I called him on it. He fled, I followed but at 6 ft to by 5 ft he quickly outran me. See ya next week f' off he said, my heart is broken, I worry something horrible will happen to him, he has great athletic ability, is gifted intelligently, yet has already failed 1 grade and been kicked off team after team. Dont know what to do?

P

PatriotsGirl

Welcome! You are certainly not alone and you have come to the right place. Have you ever had a psychiatric evaluation done on him?

DDD

Welcome. Many of us have traveled a similar road and understand your fears. It does sound as though something more than teen stuff is going on with him. Is he still on probation? If so, do they do random drug testing? That has been a deterant for many of our teens.

Has he had testing or therapy or mentoring? I raised a gifted teen with awesome athletic skills. He turned to alcohol and drugs and it still breaks our hearts to think of what "could have been" as compared to "what is". It's a long hard road. I hope you can find help thru the Courts or other means. Meanwhile I suggest you start a journal (short notations will do) so you have a full grasp of the pattern he is following. At some point it may come in handy. Hugs. DDD

busywend