girlfriend/CF Diet? I'm scared to start!

sandman3

Ok, so I've been considering this option for about 6 months now, I've read books, studied websites and have an appointment scheduled for my difficult child 2 with an Integrative Medicine Clinic (VERY EXPENSIVE!) but I'm telling you I am scared to death to start this!!! I don't know why, "D" is so agressive and I guess I fear the "withdrawal" period from all of his favorite "gluten high" foods. Help!!!

Also, do you have to do both, gluten and casein, at the same time?? We're dairy fanatics, so that scares me to. I feel like I'm being weak. I guess I better go get my Warrior Mom gear ready, lol

Any advice and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

M

ML

Have you thought about the diet that comes from the book "Breaking the Viscious Cycle? It's similar to this but maybe a little bit easier? My Stepsister has her family on it. It is a huge lifestyle change and you have to be very dedicated. If your children are small, it's much easier. If they are older you have to have their buy in which can be difficult. If I had known about this diet when my child was very young, say before school age, I would have done it. The benefits can be life changing. Having said all that, I haven't been able to make that kind of a lifestyle change. I just try to keep healthy food in the house and really watch the sugar intake which is hard as difficult child is addicted to the dang stuff. I always feel like I should be doing better. Wishing you the best. ML

Josie

My kids and I have been on the girlfriend/CF diet for almost 2 years now. We have a history of celiac disease and one of my daughters had the stomach issues involved with that so we started with just gluten free for her.