Gluten free starter help needed

HaoZi

CD Hall of Fame
A friend of mine has a son that needs to go gluten free for GI reasons. I know there's a lot of hidden gluten in things and wheat isn't the only grain with gluten in it, but since you ladies seem to know a lot about girlfriend diets, I figured I'd come to you.

*What are some good resources and advice for her?

DDD

I am not experienced with gluten free but I do know that the local health food store (where I buy my organic stuff) has MEGA gluten free products. It is, of course, a little bit pricey but in recent years regular grocery store chains and WM have vastly increased their gluten free choices and they are less costly. I would guess that she will have to explore and adapt slowly so her child won't "buck" or feel deprived. At my library there are loads of books written about the subject that might make the task less daunting. Fingers crossed it goes well and brings results. DDD

HaoZi

CD Hall of Fame
Her son has been having GI problems for 6 years and she's going girlfriend on Monday. I found her an article on WebMD about hidden gluten sources, but she's got a wait to see a GI doctor for kids, then an allergist, auto-immune doctor, etc. They want her to get started on this and keep a food diary to see if it helps him any while she's waiting to get him in to the kid's GI doctor. Yes, I know how messed up the order of things is *sigh*.

greenrene