Gotta quit smoking!!!!

Woofens

Ok, I have to quit smoking. No choices about it, I have to quit. I'm 36 years old, this pregnancy is going to be high risk because of my age and my past history of preterm labor and delivery, and I know that smoking is terrible for me and the baby.

I would appreciate any and all help. I have never successfully quit. I have only ever gone a couple days, then I fall off the wagon. I have been smoking for over 20 years :embarrassed: Over half my life. Sigh.

So, how do I do this without killing anyone in my house? LOL I have already prety much given up coffee. I'm trying to give up my Sunkist. I only smoke when I have something to drink (like coffee or sunkist). I am trying to drink more water, I don't smoke when I am drinking water. I know that sounds strange. So I'm considering opening a bottle of water and finishing it before I can have a cigarette.

Please help... I could really use the assistance!

Hugs,
Jan

trinityroyal

Jan, you're on the right track with replacing the behaviour rather than just trying to stop altogether. If you find that drinking water helps you to not smoke, then do that. Every time you crave a cigarette, drink a bottle of water first to see if the craving goes away. Try to stretch out the time between cigarettes.

I would also suggest talking to your doctor to find out if any quit smoking aids (patch, gum, Chantix medications etc.) are safe to use when you're pregnant.

One thing that worked really well for me when I quit...
I filled up a jar with all the cigarette butts, and put about an inch of water in the bottom. Whenever I felt a craving I would open the jar and inhale deeply. It stank so badly and looked so disgsusting that I felt too sick to smoke...sort of homemade aversion therapy.

Good on you for quitting. Sending good vibes and strength to help you do it.

Trinity

Jena