Heartbroken

ZebaC

Family background – We're from the UK, I’m a teacher, my husband was a communications and PR exec, is now living away from home while training to be a teacher. We have two sons – S the 19 year old, ADD, graduated high school, currently working, has applied to university, and H, 13, calm, steady and doing fine.

We’ve had a very rough time with S since he was 13/14. We lived in Brussels, Belgium at the time, and he resisted his diagnosis of ADD, was also very oppositional. He started going on facebook and began taking drugs (mainly weed), having sex, telling lies, staying out very late, and when confronted or challenged in any way, became violent and abusive. When he was 16, we moved to a small rural island, and he had a great school, but he continued with the emotional ups and downs – was very extreme, sometimes violent, breaking doors, windows, pushing and hitting, swearing, abusive, disrespectful. He has hit and punched his little brother. He always accuses us of pushing him too far, and ‘making’ him do the things he does. He drinks excessively – he’s stolen booze from us, bought and drunk bottles of vodka, and the latest is that he is buying pills from someone here on the island.