Hello and HELP

E

ELIZABET

I am new to Conduct disorders. I am really in need of help.

I have a 13 year old son whom I homeschool through a public school (OKVA). How can I put this my son is disrespectful, lies, decides it his right to put his sister in her place (by hitting her) and doesn't do the work I have told him to do for homework (he wouldn't do it even when he was in regular school). He trys to ignore me by turning away and putting his headphones in his ears (which he can't do now that I pulled them off his head and he pull them to get them back and broke them) He is constantly back talking me. I feel as if this is my fault that I am a bad parent but I know in my heart I am doing what I think is best for him but I don't know how to get him to change his behavior. :sad-very: and with his ever esculating behavior I feel as if I have become the bad guy. I feel impotent I don't hit because I feel it is wrong to do so. I try to talk to him and if feels like nagging or some form of negotiation when he hits his sister I stand him in the corner because I tried the writing 20 x I will not hit my sister bit and he refuses to do so I have taken away games and still he says I DON'T CARE I WILL STILL DO IT!! I just don't know what to do.... I can't afford a counselor.

HELP

Wiped Out

Staff member
Welcome, Elizabeth, to our corner of the world. You have truly found a soft place to land. One book I would recommend reading is The Explosive Child by Ross Greene. It has lots of great ideas and many of us really like his book. It would also probably be a good idea to have a neuropsychologist exam to see if there are underlying causes. Seeing a counselor is also a good idea. Are there services available that might provide one? Others will be along that may have other recommendations on services available. Again, welcome.Hugs.

Also you will want to remove your last name as this is a forum that can be viewed by anyone.

DaisyFace

Love me...Love me not
Hello and Welcome--