hopefloats

Just wanted to say Hi! Have a four year old son that was diagnosis with a behavioral disorder a few weeks ago and doctor is going to send him to a psychotherapist. So I'm just starting out. From what I've read up on, I think he is ODD. He has a lot of aggression and argues with us about every little thing. He was a very happy normal baby until about 2 years ago. My little John is a very insecure, unhappy, and angry little boy. I just hope we can help him. Thank God we found this sight. I was trying to blame myself because most of the web sites I've read talks about bad parenting skills. I'm an Early Childhood Educator. I have degrees in ECD and have even taught in school. I thought I was doing everything right with my kids but things just seemed to get worse with him. Now I know that it can be his body chemistry and make up. Whew!! Again just wanted to say Hi and thanks for this sight!!

BusynMember

Hi and welcome.
Since every child here probably has ODD symptoms, it is probably wise to have a total assessment done on him. ODD rarely stands alone. It's always a bad idea to try to diagnose your own child.
Did he have an speech delays, peer issues, lack of interest in toys, motor problems?
Does mood disorders or substance abuse exist on either side of the family tree?

tiredmommy

Hi Lorrie & welcome.
You'll get a ton of support here. My big question for you is what sorts of behaviors are you seeing that make you think your son may have ODD? Can you give some examples?

hopefloats

Oppositional Defiant Disorder (ODD)

Oppositional Defiant Disorder (ODD) consists of a pattern of negativistic, hostile, and defiant behaviour lasting at least 6 months, during which four (or more) of the following behaviours are present:

* often loses temper
*often argues with adults
*often actively defies or refuses to comply with adults' requests or rules
*often deliberately annoys people
*often blames others for his or her mistakes or misbehaviour