medinstr

I am new to this site today. I am on my last rope so to speak. I am an educated medical professional with a difficult child 12 son, ADHD, ODD, Depression. We are on medications (30mg Adderall XR, 100mg Zoloft) also cursed with asthma, and allergies. I want to pull out my hair, we have been dealing with this since Kindergarden. MY difficult child is very gifted educationally, however it is the behavior I cannot control, the medications do absolutely nothing we have tried several others. I am willing to try anyting that could possibly help, even considering mood stabalizers,anyone had any success with these? He has seen a psychiatrist with no improvement. He constantly disrupts class, disobeys the rules at home, ignores us as parents, and constantly argues with EVERYONE and blames this on everyone else. He enjoys conflict with anyone he can. I understand this is out of his control and it is all part of his disorder, however emotionally I cannot deal anymore. I try extra hard to hold my feelings inside but cannot help cry constantly. I fear that he will never hold a job or be able to function normally in society. He wants to be a lawyer but in my mind can see no way of him succeeding at this with the problems he has. He has very little friends, and many people do not like him. My inlaws are prime examples they want nothing to do with us because of our "problem" child. I am screaming for some help, support, advice..anythinng anyone is willing to give. My difficult child is whitty, funny, charasmatic, smart, and inventive but the "bad behavior" outweighs the good and there are times I can't stand to be around him which makes me feel aweful to say about my son. I love him dearly but dont know how to help him. My husband cannot deal with him without yelling, punnishing, or arguing which then makes us argue. We only have one child, thank God, I cannot even handle this one let alone any more. Please I am begging for some relief.
Kelly

smallworld