help! I think my son has ODD or bipolar

michelle328

I am a newbie. I am at my wits end. My six and a half year old seems to have ODD and or bipolar disorder. His psychiatrist keeps thinking it is ADHD. But he has no symptoms of that. He does great in school and has no problems. I have talked to his teacher several times about it. I keep telling the doctor I have been reading up and he has all the symptoms of ODD and bipolar symptoms. The thing that got me reading about chilhood bipolar is that I his mother am bipolar myself. And I know there is a possible genetic link. Anyway he has always been a difficult child. He was a difficult baby and toddler and kinda never grew out of it. He is easily set off and bites, punches, screams, butts his head, cusses, and just gets out of control. You have to sometimes hold him down so he doesn't hurt anyone or himself. He does not do it at school though only at home. He is now being tried on Zoloft and resperdol at the moment. We just started the zoloft. I am so stressed and just want him to get better. Thanks for listening. I am hoping to find others who have kids going through the same thing. I feel so alone.

brandyf

trust me, i know what your going thru. ours started out with diagnosis of ODD, then to Mood Disorder, now to Bipolar. we see our pscyh on the 19th to talk about mood stabilizers. i have been told and have read that antidepressants can make Bipolar worse and that mood stabilizers are what helps with bipolar, they can be used together i think, but you really have to monitor how they act on antidepressants. can even make them suicidal. from what i have just read zoloft is an antidepressant and risperidol would be the mood stabalizer or psychotrophic medication. watch the zolft.

trust me your not alone. the professionals will be here shortly to give you a great welcome. this board has done wonders for my stress and my unaswered questions.

welcome!!!

busywend

Welcome! Glad you found us.