Hi, Im new to this

Chelle77

Hi everyone! Im new to this, if you could offer some assistance on how to get started and any information you can give me. Like difficult child? these acronyms im unsure of there meaning!

recoveringenabler

Staff member
Welcome Chelle. To get started you would simply begin a thread as you have, communicating what you are here for. You've posted in the Parent Emeritus forum which is for parents with older kids, over 18 or out on their own. If you have younger kids or kids involved in substance abuse you would post in those particular forums. Just start a thread as you have and tell us about your particular story. If you like, put a bio at the bottom of your posts, which is to identify you and your family (anonymously of course) using the acronyms which will help us to recall who you are and help us to support you. You have likely read some of our stories, so you are aware of what we are up to here...............join us if it feels right to you..........

DammitJanet

Welcome to the board but I am so sorry you had to find us under such difficult times. You will find a great group of parents here who have walked more than a mile in the sames hoes as you have. There isn't much that we haven't heard, experienced or had happen to us so nothing shocks us anymore. You are now among friends who will gather you into our fold.

Now I will warn you that because we all have been through the wringer with our difficult child's (the problem children who brought us here) we can some times be pretty blunt and tell it like it like it is. That comes from years of dealing with our kids,schools, the police and other various agencies we have all had the pleasure of being involved with. It does get old after awhile as I'm sure your you know.