HI! Newbie here. I have a 9 yr old boy diagnosed with ADHD

B

brendan

I really need some support from people who have been there.

Background-
Brendan is extremely smart. Lacks social skills, patience, manners, respect, etc. He was finally diagnosed with ADHD last year and was put on Ritalin and Celexa for his social anxieties. (scared of crowds) He has not hit anyone since he's been put on these medications but right now he is suspended for bullying. He and his friends decided to make a list on "How to kill Eric" - a child who is overweight and very slow. Brendan says Eric gets on everyone's nerves.

Anyway, he is showing ZERO remorse which is usual for him. It is like he is missing this empathy chip in his brain. He always tells people the truth point blank even if it hurts their feelings. Right now we are reading books on patience, respect, manners, tolerance...you name it.
I don't know what is wrong with the kid. This is his second suspension. Last year before he was on ritalin he hit his teacher.
He has a 10 yr old brother who his a perfect student, lots of friends, social, manners, respectful
I border on being mad at Brendan or feeling sorry for him.

Any mothers like me? Also, very intelligent and intolerant of kids that don't "get" things at school.

Thank you!
Michelle

BusynMember

Welcome to the board. Wow. Hi.

I hate to say this, but I would be terrified of a child who planned "How to kill..." even if he didn't mean it. And it sounds like more is going on than ADHD...that has nothing to do with a lack of empathy. I am wondering about his father or any relatives on either side of this boys genetic family tree.