How do you "Detatch"?

Joe Mama

Hello, I have been fighting with my 31 yo daughter for a couple of years, after having a great relationship. She was married with two beautiful children, but is now divorcing and seeing someone the same age as her Dad and I, (Daddy issues). I do not agree with everything she has done and is doing, but after reading that article on detatchment I think I need to just let her live her life and shut my mouth, as hard as it is. My question is, how do I detatch? It is breaking my heart for myself, her children, and her exhusband to be.

Tanya M

Living with an attitude of gratitude
Staff member
Welcome Joe Mama, I'm sorry you are going through this difficult time. You have found a good place to find support and advice.

Regardless of whether we have a good or bad relationship we have to let our adult children live their own lives. When our children live in a responsible manner, life is good but when they start behaving in ways that make us take pause we can become obsessed with going into "rescue mode"

For many of us here like myself, our adult children have been "difficult" since their teens.
It must be very painful for you to have had a good relationship with her and now to be fighting.

Detaching is not something that happens overnight, it takes time. Start with limiting contact. Does she call you daily? If so, you don't need to answer every time she calls, let it go to voice mail. For myself I only communicate with my son via private messages on Facebook. Detachment is accepting that your adult child is going to live a life that you don't approve of and there is nothing you can do to change it. It is what it is.