I am at a loss....

dumbstruckgrandma

dumbstruckgrandma
I am a greandmother, mother, wife, and a nurse and yet with my 9 year old grandson I am at a loss. I am very new with this conduct disorder diagnosis for my grandson ZZ.
I am at a loss on just how you ladies and gentlemen deal with this issue. I have a hard time handling ZZ as he is very charming, and yet downright naughty in a span of 0.0002 seconds. I need some help and understanding so I am open to some learning. I ask my daughter and she seems to be confusing to me as she has the tendency to rationalize his behavior. Example: If I just deal with him and get him calm it is better for the other kids (brother and sister) however, it appears to me that ZZ is a 24 hour please calm me and forget the other kids, if she dosen't then she is a jerk or worse.
Help..

house of cards

I don't have any great advice for you but I wanted to say that I think it is very nice that you see and want to help your daughter with ZZ. Alot of grandparents don't see enough to truely understand and they feel that their child just isn't parenting "right" or some feel that they did their time raising their kids and don't want to get involved. I do think you could help by taking ZZ out 1 on 1 with you sometime, if you can handle him. It would let the others get a break and sometimes our kids can be pretty good 1 on 1.

nvts

Hi Grandma! Welcome to the crowd! It really is commendable that you've taken such an interest.

A few questions:

he's 9, do you have any idea what his diagnosis is? Is it simply "Conduct Disorder" or bipolar, Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD), Pervasive Developmental Disorder (PDD)-not otherwise specified, etc.?

Has he had a neuropsychologist evaluation?

Is there any mental illness in either his mom or dad's side of the family? Substance Abuse?

How does he do in school?

Does he have friends?

I know they seem a little intrusive, but the answers will make it easier to provide insight!

Again, welcome to the group!