I graduated

N

Nomad

Several years ago, I came to this forum lost and drained and most of the reasons why were difficult child related.

I had put my life on hold for nearly 20 years to help care for my difficult child adopted daughter and gave up much.

AT some point I realized that I needed to move on...

2+ years ago, I enrolled in graduate school...bottom line...I graduated on Saturday.

For the past week, I have been in a daze...there is a little more to be done, but the end is obviously here. Good friends gave me a lovely dinner this past weekend. It was a memorable experience.

I just want to encourage everyone, especially those whose children are approaching 18 and certainly those whose difficult children are 18 and over, to move forwad with your lives.

This has been a wonderful, awesome, terrific experience. It has been hard to the bone at times, but so very worth it. I do NOT recall being this happy many many years. I am MOST grateful to myself for pushing forward, my husband, my many kind and caring friends and for those on this forum who offered a friendly word of advice when most needed.
Thank you. :D

Last edited:

ThreeShadows

Quid me anxia?
Congratulations, Nomad! What an accomplishment. I still don't know what I want to be when I grow up. I admire that you didn't stay beaten down by life and your difficult child.

D

Doddlin

Wow! Good for you. I put my education plans on hold a few years back feeling I was robbing the kids since I work full time as well. I figured as they were teens, I needed to be home. Ick. I regret that, really I do. I'm set to start up again this fall. Me time here I come.

hearts and roses

Mind Reader
That is awesome! Congratulations Nomad!!!

I have started and stalled over the years since my girls were little, but each class is a step forward and something I count for me. So true. I received my congratulatory letter for making the Dean's list this last semester!

Yeah for you~

GoingNorth

Crazy Cat Lady