I'm new here and about to blow my top!

SarahHawke

Hi there. This is my first time posting here, as a matter of fact it's my first time coming across a support group like this. And I really think I need it! Here's my storey;

My husband and I have 6 year old twin boys....one of whom has just been diagnosed with oppositional defiance disorder. While I feel relieved to finally have a "name" behind his actions I still am no closer to knowing how to deal with him.

He is so negative and miserable. They have a wonderful life, are well taken care of, and bathed in love. My husband and I are both always telling them how much we love them and how proud we are of them.

Dominick can be really nasty and mean and miserable :( It's so hard. My husband and I both take time to spend with him one on one and nothing works.

Does anyone have any ideas about disapline for bad behavior? I'd love to know what works for you! I really appreciate it!

everywoman

One really good text to read is The Explosive Child. It will give you methods that will help. You need to determine what is most important. Put things in baskets---A is most important, B is kind of important, C.... Well, you get the idea. You begin with basket A---I included those that were safety related...violence, running away, etc. Then you work on those behaviors first. Things like brushing hair, clothes, room went on the back burner for a while. Good luck. It's tough dealing with a defiant child.

SarahHawke

Thanks for your response. I will check it out for sure. We don't have issues with him in regards to cleaning his room, getting dress, and so forth. It's mainly the way he snaps when he gets mad at his brother. Like if they're playing a game. there's no happy medium. he goes from happy to angry, there's no progression. he swears at me, calls me names, throws things, breaks things. So i will deffinatley look at that thread. thanks so much!

BusynMember

HI there.