In your opinion, is pot the gateway drug?

D

dixiegirl40

For those of you whose difficult child's are using more than pot and alcohol, my difficult child's drugs of choice, did your difficult child's start using pot first. I've been having this argument with my difficult child a lot and he says that I'm really uninformed. I never did any type of drug growing up. I wasn't rebellious either so he feels I can't relate. Where part of that is true we all have issues and I've got my share they just don't include substances. He just acts like he's on more than pot. His mood swings are terrible and his attitude is worse. I've home tested him but all it's ever been positive for his pot. I'm still new to this and need advice. Just wondering how many of your difficult child's started with pot and alcohol but progressed to more.

T

toughlovin

Hi Dixie,

I heard once that cigarettes are the gateway drug!! In my sons case i think that was true. He always says pot is his drug of choice and that may be true, but fact is he will use anything to get high and has used a lot of different things.

Your son wants you to believe that smoking pot and drinking are no big deal everybody does it. He wants you to believe this so that he can continue doing it with no recriminations from you. It is also in his best interest ( in his mind) to have you believe he is not doing anything else.

So the problem with drug testing is there are lots of things that dont show up or stay in your system a short time...lsd for example. There are also lots of over the counter drugs kids use that are not tested for...such as robitussen. And ther are synthetic forms of pot such as spice and K2 that will not show up on standard drug tests. So drug testing can give you a false sense of security.

Now that does not mean every kid who smokes pot or drinks is going to end up with a major drug problem. I did some experimenting back in the day and i never had a substance abuse problem...gee i barely even drink now!