Just thinking about difficult child's education

klmno

I graduated high school early because I got all the required credits early by taking summer school one year. difficult child had been on a progressive path in school because he'd been going for the advanced diploma and there's a 98% chance that's off the table now since his time in Department of Juvenile Justice was extended about 7-10 days past the start of spring semester. However, it would be possible for him to get all the state's requirements for the standard diploma one semester early now, meaning he would have all requirements met by the end of fall semester his senior year, falling about thee same time he turns 18yo. I'm wondering if most sd's still allow graduating early if the requirements are met. This might serve as a real motivator for him and keep re-entry lady from dangling carrots that really do no more than encourage him to quit school and get his GED so he can get in the work force. He wants his diploma but as all teens, is itching to get independent and get some money in his pocket.

I know he won't get off parole until he's at least 18 and if he goes to that group home, it won't be until after 18yo and in the work force, by any way I can see it, and that would mean them being involved until he's 18 1/2 (the summer of 2012) or until he quits school, gets a GED, and gets a job and apt, then they check on him for 3 mos after that. But if could could graduate in Jan, 2013, worse case scenario (other than reoffending and re-incarceration), he goes to group home in Feb., 2012, for 6-8 mos, then comes to live with me while finishing high school and they do their 'checking on him' for 90 days, but then I AM DONE with the people in the system because difficult child will be 18 and out of high school!! Then, if he stays with me or not, it's between him and me. If he stays on parole- I'm out of parole requirements once he's 18 and out of school.

Last edited:

InsaneCdn