Keyboards

Lothlorien

I'm probably on my fourth keyboard. The last one I had was a Microsoft, slightly curved on. It was fine, except it double typed a lot and spaced too much. I wanted an ergonomic keyboard, since I type so much and have the beginnings of carpal tunnel syndrome. So, I went to the store. The only keboard that was ergonomic, in four different stores, was another microsoft. I bought it, reluctantly. It's been fine. However, the last week or two, it doesn't type the H all the time. It's driving me nuts that I have to keep going back and fixing where the H is missing.

Anyone else have this problem with keyboards? I type for a living so this just ticks me off.

I used to have a logitec keyboard and it was great, but not ergonomic. The new logitechs are slightly curved, but not enough.

The other problem is that I type so much, that I wear the letters off of my keyboards. My kids can't find the letters, especially the middle ones.

slsh

member since 1999
LOL, Loth. I'm chuckling here. I also have the MS ergonomic board. It's been ok, though I did go through about a month where when I hit the "p" it would type a couple of them (thank goodness for MS Word's spell check). Actually, I couldn't use anything but an ergonomic board - when I went back to work 2 years ago, just a week on a normal board had my wrists *screaming* and I don't officially have carpal tunnel. I have to have the curved board with the break down the middle.

My brother tried to get me to switch to a Dvorak layout (supposed to be easier on the wrists) several years ago but I am just too old a dog to learn this new trick:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dvorak_Simplified_Keyboard

Found these links for boards:

http://www.ergonomicsmadeeasy.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=15

http://www.ergonomicsmadeeasy.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWCATS&Category=140

And do a google on ergonomic keyboard - lots of them out there.

As far as the letters, I've worn off: