Lost my job, husband has an interview...

trinityroyal

It's official...
I just got word that the company I've been working for has a huge budget shortfall, and they can't keep me on any longer.

Usually, this is no big shakes for me. I work as a consultant, on contract. Normal assignments are 3 to 6 months, so I move around a lot. However, I've been with THIS client for 2 1/2 years (a VERY long time in my line of work). They liked my work, we all got along well, and they kept finding more and more for me to do, sometimes even letting me work 2 jobs so that I could make extra money.

The Director of the department I work in told me that there's still a TON of work for me to do, they just can't afford to pay for it.

husband is still out of work. He's also a consultant, and people with his specialty have been hit really hard. He hasn't had a contract in a year. According to the industry experts, people in husband's field have not seen a job market this bad in 25 years. So I've been floating the financial boat for the family.

With 2 incomes, we are just fine. With only one, we've been cutting it very close. Mortgage, bills, food...difficult child's Residential Treatment Center (RTC)!!! With nothing coming in, I don't know what we're going to do.

I've been contacting everyone I can think of--past clients, former co-workers, friends, relatives, to see if anyone has any job leads. I've even gone back to the temp agencies I worked with 20 years ago to see if I can find some work..ANY work, to start back filling.

After a year of pounding the pavement with no success, husband has a really promising job interview coming up next week.

Please say a prayer, cross fingers, rattle beads for us. I'm scared. Really really scared.

Suz

(the future) MRS. GERE
I'll move it for you, Trinity. I'm so sorry to hear this. Times are really scary all over for job security and other economic issues.