Making cookies when you don't bake is ....

meowbunny

INTERESTING!

Since I knew I was a rookie, I did my best to be fully prepared. All the baking supplies were on one counter (flour, sugar, chocolate, etc.). Cookie sheets, cookie press (actually have two -- both my mothers), rolling pins, etc. on top of the stove since we wouldn't be using burners. Spices, extracts at the ready. Two counters clean for mixing and rolling. Cuisinart and mini-Cuisinart at the ready. Yup, I'm all primed.

Day one is sugar cookies -- using the press, cutting out, mixing with flavoring for other type of cookies. Mom, where's the butter? Um, er .... in the freezer. Mind you, this butter is in 1-lb blocks.

Get butter out of the freezer. User big, heavy, sharp butcher knife. Start to cut in half. "MOM! The knife isn't going straight!" Look, it sure isn't -- gone off on a total tilt. Slowwwwly pull knife out. Run my beautiful, heavy chopping knife under hot water. Cut the butter in half. Run it under hot water again, cut butter into quarters. My wonderful chopping knife is no longer sharp. sob

Okay, I remember the butter soup story. Put a stick in the microwave and defrost for 10 seconds. Still frozen solid. Defrost for 30 seconds. Solid butter. Defrost for another 30 seconds -- semi-soft. Another 30 seconds and it is soft. PHEW

Marie mixes first batch. No problem. We stare at the cookie presses. No directions for either. Unscrew the bottom of one. There's a white cap that has to be removed. Marie tries. No luck. Here, I have fingernails, I'll try. No luck. Marie says let me try again. She uses her teeth. No luck. That thing is wedged in there. I take the press and look at it very carefully. Press a button at the top and the lever/masher/whatever you want to call it goes up. The white plastic cap goes up. DUH!!!! Put the appropriate design in and press away.