tootired

I am new to this, but I hope I can find some support from others dealing with similar situations as I am. I am a stay-at-home mom of two boys. My oldest is four years old and my youngest is seven months old. Somedays, I feel like my four year old is possessed! He will be nice and using his manners one minute, then the next thing I know, he's screaming at the top of his lungs at me, throwing toys down the hallway at me; when I try to get near him, I get hit, kicked, bit, or spit on. It's like he becomes a different person when he gets told to do something he doesn't want to do. My husband is the only one that can control our oldest; when he's around my son doesn't become abusive or do half the things he does when it's just me at home. We've taken him to our doctor who referred us to a psychiatrist. It was such a waste of time. The psychiatrist gave us basic parenting advice and told us there was nothing wrong with him. So we went back to the doctor and he said maybe our son had ADHD and put him on Adderall XR. My husband never saw a change, but I swear it made our son psychotic! I still have scars and bruises from all the bites and kicks I received in that two week period. One day he was mad at me and stepped on his little brother's chest. Afterward he told my husband he did it because he was mad at me and didn't want to listen. Things have gotten so bad, I worry about my youngest's emotional and physical health...not to mention my own safety lately. We have an appointment now to see a developmental pediatrician but it's not until January. I am at the end of my rope and don't know what to do. Does anyone have any suggestions?!?!

Jena

Hi,

I'm sorry to hear you are having such a hard time. So, your gut believes that the sudden violent outbursts are side effects of the medication? Is he still on the medication at this point?

tootired