My only son.

Mom

We adopted our son when he was 6. As a teacher I could tell he was ADHD, but PTSD, and Reactive Attachment Disorder were added within a year. We had had 2 therapists, one in-home and one who did play therapy. We switched to an attachment therapist and saw a little improvement. The biggest issue we noticed was that he didn't learn from his mistakes and his memory was very poor. He started medications for ADHD in 3rd grade. His behavior in school and grades were vastly improved. We felt like we had won the lottery. At home though he still had frequent angry outbursts. He became very successful in sports and though he was still awful at home and lied frequently, we figured he had a bright future. Did I mention he has a genius IQ? He peaked in 6th grade. By junior high he was smoking cigars, weed, and drinking. By 8th grade he had branched out into designer drugs. He went through 2 anger management programs, 2 therapists, and 2 different psychiatrists. Mind you through all this he was going to church with us, fun summer camps, vacations, outings, drum lessons, skateboarding. However, his grades were in the toilet and he was getting suspended a lot for fighting and disrespecting teachers. 9th grade began with him skipping school and breaking the law. He and/or his friends stole thousands of dollars of the jewelery I had inherited from my mother and grandmother. Joseph has large families on both sides, but they have no tolerance for criminals. His older sisters really tried with him, but he had become so abusive with me they were furious with him. When he began stealing cars, Department of Juvenile Justice sent him to a program for 9 months. We were so hopeful that during this time away he had figured things out. I wrote to him several times a week, and his dad and I visited every other week. He did really well in the program and even made up for the grades he failed. We enrolled him in a new school for a fresh start even though we had to drive him. His