My son just got another suspension

ratdoggy

Hi all
I am a newbie to this forum and have been at my wits end lately
I saw this mentioned in a thread here...Is it true? My son does have an IEP and has been suspended already this year and they want to suspend him again for 10 days this time. It seems that everytime there is a problem they suspend him, like the time when 3 kids beat him up. We are getting a lawyer to keep him in school
He is on a IEP so they can only by law suspend him for up to 10 days for the entire school year.

keista

Welcome.

Only if the behavior is directly related to the disability. After the tenth day there are supposed to be meetings and such and there are protections that still allow him access to his education. Sorry, I'm only casually familiar with all the legal details.

If you haven't already, check out wrightslaw.com Smart move getting a lawyer to help you with this.

Others will be by to offer their support and knowledge. It would be helpful is you could share a few more details about your son - diagnosis, IEP accommodations, etc. Of course, only share what you are comfortable sharing. We do our best to respect privacy here and not reveal identifying information, but details help us all to help you.

Welcome again. :notalone:

ratdoggy

I'm not 100% sure on his actual diagnosis. As it seems they throw so many things at you faster than a lay person can process. I will try to get more info

buddy