Need advice and opinions - psychiatrist just added adderall

somerset

I talked to the psychiatrist just now about how difficult child is still really depressed. She's not going to school, is in bed all day, feels nothing is worth doing, doesn't see friends, etc. She's been on Celexa for 6 weeks and it hasn't been helping at all. She's been on 20mg. He said we should try 30mg. He also wants to add 5mg adderall to see if increases her activity level and her motivation. I think it's worth a try, but I am concerned about it increasing anxiety and the effect it will have on her appetite. She has had times where, due to stomach issues and pill reactions, she has been nauseous for a long time and ends up losing her appetite altogether. She's still underweight, but eatling ok. The trazadone at night really makes her hungry and that helps. I have a lot of personal experience with antidepressants and antianxiety medications, but know little about stimulants. Any opinions or advice? And can it trigger migraines?

Last edited:

ringelberg

I don't have a tremendous amount of experience, but I do have some. If she isn't going to school and just lies in bed all day and the doctor wants to try adderall, I would give it a try for sure! It very well may get her going. Just watch her closely for nausea etc... It may be the jump-start she needs. Once she has started to function again, then you can address the eating habits. If she is feeling less depressed, she is more likely to eat even if her appetite is decreased. Well, take what you like and leave the rest. :)

TerryJ2

Hmm. I've never heard of it being used like that before. I've only heard of it being used on little kids to slow down the ADHD issues. All you can do is give it a try in the a.m. and see what happens. You'll know right away. It's not like you have to titre it up in her blood system or anything.
I'm scratching my head over this one ...

InsaneCdn