Need help! What kind of laptop/tablet should I get?

recoveringenabler

Staff member
I am in the market for a new laptop or tablet, but I'm not sure what to get. I need something very lightweight so I can take it with me, it'll primarily be used for writing, email, research on the internet, occasional video or movie watching............no gaming. I prefer a keyboard but having a touchscreen would be okay too. Should I get an ipad, the new Microsoft Surface as someone suggested, a Toshiba...? I am not a techie so it can get overwhelming. I could use your advice. What do you recommend? Thanks so much!

Nancy

I got the iPad mini for Christmas and love it for reading, checking the board, facebook, etc. But I don't like typing on it and prefer a keyboard. I also do not like web browsing on the iPad, it's just me, I don't like the apple system. There are also some things you cannot watch on the iPad because of flash. I know there is an app you can download but I tried and just can't figure out how it works and besides it costs money. I don't like that apple charges you for everything that is free on windows. And if you download something you don't like or doesn't work it's nearly impossible to get your money back. Give me windows and google and I'm happy. I would love to know what others thought about the surface or galaxy.

DammitJanet

I answered this before but I would suggest something like the Surface or the HP Envy. Or you can now get small, thin laptops. Im sure there are more tablets like the Surface and Envy out there now. Go to Best Buy and look. Get a feel for them.

nerfherder

I am using an older Dell Latitude Duo XT, converts from tablet to clamshell laptop. I'm running Ubuntu on it, I really like the new Unity desktop layout. And Ubuntu is not difficult to install these days, there's a "build" (meaning installable version) for almost everything reasonable on the market. Not like years ago when I first did a *nix install, and needed lots of help.